Committees

Awards (Click on Name of Award for more Information)

Senator Peter B. Boorsma Award (International)

Chair: Rex Facer (UT) rfacer@byu.edu
Dan Lasseter (GA) DanL@uga.edu
M. Jae Moon (ASPA Intl Director) mjaemoon@gmail.com

Morris W. H. Collins Award (Doctoral Student Paper)

Chair: Luke Fowler (GA) lukefowler@boisestate.edu
Jody Holland (MS) jholland@olemiss.edu
Kalu N. Kalu (Al) kkalu@aum.edu
Kathleen Hale (Al) halekat@auburn.edu

Robert L. Kline Award (Masters’ Student Paper)

Chair: Akhlaque Haque (AL) ahaque@uab.edu
John Kiefer (LA) jkiefer@uno.edu
Shannon Vaughan (KY) shannon.vaughan@wku.edu

Donato J. Pugliese Award (Service to SECoPA)

Chair: Phin Xaypangna (NC) phin.xaypangna@mecklenbergcountync.gov
Dorothy Norris-Tirrell (FL) dntirrell@gmail.com
Terry Murphy (FL) terrymurphy06@gmail.com

Distinguished Public Service Practitioner Award

Chair: Frank Fusco (SC) rocksalvage74@aol.com
Calvin Sims (GA) cesims@bellsouth.net
Lisa Cameron (GA) lisacssinc@gmail.com
Anne Osborne Kilpatrick (SC) kilpatao@musc.edu

Communications/Marketing

Chair: Dan Lasseter (GA) danL@uga.edu
Roslyn Alic-Batson (FL) alicbatson1@gmail.com
Kenneth Hunter (NC) kenneth.hunter@rockymountnc.gov
Matthew L. Howell (KY) matthew.howell@eku.edu
Casey Seidman (FL) casey.seidman@nova.edu

Endowment

Chair: Anne Osborne Kilpatrick (SC) kilpatao@musc.edu
Jody Holland (MS) jholland@olemiss.edu
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com
Linda McNish mcnalin@msn.com
Donna Handley (AL) donna.m.handley@gmail.com
Ed Jennings (KY) ed.jennings@uky.edu
Dorothy Norris-Tirrell (FL) dntirrell@gmail.com
Joy A Clay (TN) joyclay@memphis.edu

Finance (Click Here for Policies)

Chair: Glenn Joseph (FL) glennjoseph5@gmail.com
Ines Beecher (FL) nesibeech@hotmail.com
Jody Holland (MS) jholland@olemiss.edu
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com

Nominations

Chair: Will Hatcher (GA) wihatcher@gru.edu
Jo Ann Ewalt (SC) ewaltjg@cofc.edu
Roslyn Alic-Batson (FL) alicbatson1@gmail.com
Anne Osborne Kilpatrick (SC) kilpatao@musc.edu

Bylaws/Procedures

Chair: Kim Hoffman (AK) khoffman@uca.edu
Kathy Hensley kathrynhensley@hotmail.com
Steven Bobes (FL) BTV@miamidade.gov
Joy A Clay (TN) joyclay@memphis.edu

Site Selection

Click Here for Conference Guidelines

Click Here for Conference Management & Oversight Guide

Chair: Suzanne Leland (NC) smleland@uncc.edu
Bill Solomon (FL) pbs@miamidade.gov
Eddie French (MS) efrench@pspa.msstate.edu
Nick Swartz (VA) swartznj@jmu.edu

2016 Conference Committee

Chair: Jerrell Coggburn (NC) jcoggburn@ncsu.edu
James Svara (NC) james.svara@sog.unc.edu
James Brunet (NC) jbrunet@ncsu.edu

Conference Guidelines Task Force

Chair: Bill Solomon (FL) kingsol@bellsouth.net
Shannon Vaughan (KY) shannon.vaughan@wku.edu
Phin Xaypangna (NC) phin.xaypangna@mecklenbergcountync.gov
Lore Naylor (MD)lnaylor@ubalt.edu
Lisa Gittner (TX) lisa.gittner@ttu.edu

SECoPA Chapters Task Force

Chair: Eddie French (MS) efrench@pspa.msstate.edu
Dan Lasseter (GA) danL@uga.edu
Jody Holland (MS) jholland@olemiss.edu

Policy Advocacy Task Force

Chair: Calvin Sims (GA) cesims@bellsouth.net
Terry Murphy (FL) terrymurphy06@gmail.com
Joy Clay (TN) joyclay@memphis.edu
Sheri Empeno (CA) sempeno@yahoo.com

SECoPA/MOU Task Force

Chair: Tom Barth (NC) bartht@uncw.edu
Kim Hoffman (AK) khoffman@uca.edu
Sandy Ribando (GA) sribando@gru.edu
Ines Beecher (FL) nesibeech@hotmail.com
Phin Xaypangna (NC) phin.xaypangna@mecklenbergcountync.gov

 

Nominations Committee Guidelines and Procedures

Membership:
The nominations committee generally consists of three people appointed by theSECoPA chair, two of whom are usually on the Board of Directors or former members of the Board. The third member is an at-large member of SECoPA.  The committee chair should be a current or former SECoPA Board member.

Committee Chair:
The committee chair is responsible for having a clear understanding of which board or officer slots are vacant in the upcoming year.  The Board consists of 12 members, with 4 Officers.  Every year, the Chair-Elect will be a vacant position that must be filled, along with the 4 second year board slots (terms are two years, and board members generally rotate off the board after their second year), and any officer slots that are announced as vacant in the previous year.

Nominations:
The committee chair should ask the nominations committee and the Board of Directors for recommendations for the Board vacancies.  When considering nominees, the committee should seek to provide a broad representation of the geographical states that are members of SECoPA, as well as a mix of diverse individuals that would strengthen and provide efficient service to the organization.

Prior to contacting the slate of selected nominees, the committee chair should obtain a consensus from the nominations committee, and consult with the Chair, past Chair and incoming Chair.

Once a consensus is obtained, the committee chair can contact the nominees by either email or telephone to request that they serve on the Board.  A “slate” should be completed and provided to the entire Board of Directors prior to the annual meeting.

The committee chair should also be sure to invite “new” board members to the “new board” meeting, which is held at the annual meeting.

Other nominees should be included in a list that is sent to the Chair in order to include them in other SECoPA committee assignments.  This is a great idea for newer members of SECoPA in order to introduce them to the organization and to enable them to get involved.

(Approved by SECoPA Board October 5, 2005)