CRITERIA FOR AWARDS Presented by the EMPIRE STATE CAPITAL AREA CHAPTER AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

AWARD CATEGORIES

NELSON A. ROCKEFELLER AWARD

Nelson A. Rockefeller served as governor of New York from 1959 to 1973. As governor of New York, Rockefeller engaged in massive building endeavors such as Albany's South Mall, later renamed the Nelson A. Rockefeller Empire State Plaza. He was the driving force in turning the State University of New York into the largest system of public higher education in the United States, created many major highways which vastly improved road transportation throughout the State, his generous pension programs for many public workers in the state, highest-in-the-nation minimum wage, and reform of the governance of New York City's transportation system left a profound mark on New York State.

The Nelson A. Rockefeller is presented to an individual whose governmental career in New York State demonstrates exemplary leadership, performance, and achievement in shaping public policy, developing and implementing major public programs, or resolving major public problems.

Nominees must be nominated by the State Academy of Public Administration to receive the award, offered by the Empire State Capital Area Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration. The recipient is expected to address a joint meeting of the Chapter and the Academy held in Albany in the early fall.

ALFRED E. SMITH AWARD

As governor of New York State, Alfred E. Smith became known nationally as a progressive who sought to make government more efficient and more effective in meeting social needs. During his term as governor (1919-1920, 1923-1928), New York strengthened laws governing workers' compensation, women's pensions, and child and women's labor, ahead of many States.

The Alfred E. Smith Award is presented in recognition of outstanding individual service and initiative which has exemplified superior management and administration within New York State and which has contributed significantly to the resolution of a major government problem, to the development of a major governmental program, or which has effected major economies and/or efficiencies in the governmental process. The service rendered, *which may consist of a singular accomplishment*, should be far in excess of the normal expectation of the duties of the nominee's position and the level of the position within the organization.

Nominees must be nominated for accomplishments achieved in service in the Executive, Legislative, or Judicial branches of State government or in Federal service or in the service of a public benefit corporation within New York State.

CHARLES EVANS HUGHES AWARD

Charles Evans Hughes served as Governor of New York from 1907–1910, was appointed an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court (serving 1910–1916), and was United States Secretary of State under Warren G. Harding and Calvin Coolidge (from 1921–1925) before Herbert Hoover appointed Hughes to Chief Justice of the United States in 1930, in which capacity he served until 1941.

The Charles Evans Hughes Award is presented in recognition of outstanding individual service which has exemplified superior management and administration within New York State and which has contributed significantly to the resolution of major governmental problems, to the development of major governmental programs, or that has effected major economies and/or efficiencies in the governmental process *over an extended period of time*. The service rendered should be far in excess of the normal expectations of the duties of the nominee's position and the level of the position within the organization.

Nominees must be nominated for accomplishments achieved in service in the Executive, Legislative, or Judicial branches of State government or in Federal service or in the service of a public benefit corporation within New York State.

FRANK C. MOORE AWARD

Frank C. Moore, a graduate of the University of Buffalo Law School, served as a Delegate to New York State Constitutional Convention (1938, 1967), New York State Comptroller (1943-50) and Lieutenant Governor of New York (1951-53). Moore oversaw the formative stages of the State University of New York and served until 1966 as chair of the SUNY Board of Trustees.

The Frank C. Moore Award is presented in recognition of outstanding individual service that has exemplified superior management and administration *within local government*, and which has contributed significantly to the resolution of a major governmental problem, to the development of a major governmental program, or that has effected major economies and/or efficiencies in the governmental process. The service rendered may be recent and singular or may encompass a series of accomplishments over a period of time. Such achievements should be far in excess of the normal expectations of the duties of the nominee's position and the level of the position within the organization.

Nominees must be nominated for accomplishments achieved while serving in a unit of local government (county, city, town, school district, village or special district).

NEW ADMINISTRATOR AWARD

Awarded for outstanding individual service which has exemplified superior management and administration within New York State and which has contributed significantly to the resolution of a major governmental problem, to the development of a major governmental program, or that has effected major economies and/or efficiencies in the governmental process by an administrator *with less than ten years of public service*. The service rendered should be far in excess of the normal expectation of the duties of the nominee's position and should reflect promise and potential for the nominee to assume future high level positions within government in New York State.

Nominees *must be* nominated for accomplishments achieved in service in the Executive, Legislative, or Judicial branches of State government or in Federal service or in the service of a public benefit corporation within New York State.