2012 Award Winners epitomize Public Finance Excellence

On October 12th, three individuals were recognized by ABFM for their excellence as students, practitioners, researchers and professors in public sector finance during the annual awards luncheon at our association’s 2012 Annual Conference in New York City on October 12th.

ABFM presented its recipients of three annual awards: the Michael Curro Student Paper Award, the S. Kenneth Howard Award and the Aaron Wildavsky Award.

Aaron Wildavsky Award – Philip Joyce

This Wildavsky Award  was established in 1993 as a liftime achievement award for work in budgeting and financial management in memory of Dr. Aaron Wildavsky. Professor Wildavsky was a pioneering scholar in the fields of government budgeting, public policy, and policy analysis.  He is most remembered for his work on the theory and concept of budgetary incrementalism, which was often held in contrast to rational decision approaches to public management and policy outcomes.  His academic contributions include 37 books numerous articles on a wide variety of policy and budgeting topics including budgetary process, policy analysis, political culture, foreign affairs, public administration, strategic choice, and comparative government.  His book, Politics of the Budgetary Process, which was first published in 1964, is still one of the most widely read and cited studies of federal budgeting- now at its 5th edition (2003).  He spent most of his career at the University of California at Berkeley where he was the founding dean of the Graduate School of Public Policy.

S. Kenneth Howard Award – Roy W. Bahl, Jr.

The S. Kenneth Howard Award was established in 1986 in memory of S. Kenneth Howard to honor lifetime achievement by a practioner in the field of budgeting and financial management. Dr. Howard was a faculty member at UNC Chapel Hill and held a joint appointment in the Department of Political Science and the Institute of Government. Dr. Howard also played a key role in establishing the University’s Master of Public Administration degree program at UNC.

Michael Curro Student Paper Award – Forrest Longman

The Michael Curro Award for best graduate student paper was established to honor Michael Curro.  Graduate students who have written outstanding papers in the field as part of a course, independent study, or other faculty supervised project are eligible. Mr. Curro was an active and engaging member of ABFM; serving on the Public Budgeting and Finance editorial board, ABFM’s executive committee, and the board of directors of Public Financial Publications, Inc. He worked for the GAO in a variety of capacities for over 30 years starting in the regional office of his hometown Cincinnati, Ohio in 1974.  Mr. Curro often wrote about budget and finance topics in professional journals and taught classes at Georgetown University, USDA Graduate School, and Central Michigan University. Among other accomplishments, Mr. Curro helped shape and implement the Government Performance and Results Act through the General Accounting Office.  His body of work on performance budgeting and the federal budget account structure continue to be important documents with a wide audience.


Click Here for a List of Prior Award Recipients